South East Leaders Disown IPOB, Calls For Peace

Following the call for secession by some ethnic groups in the country, it has been reported that some leaders from the South-East,  after a meeting in Enugu disowned the Indigenous People of Biafra and all pro-Biafra agitators, stating that all the secessionist groups don’t speak for the region.

This was revealed in a communique following resolutions of the South-East leaders on Saturday.

 The Chairman, South-East Governors’ Forum and Ebonyi State Governor, Chief David Umahi, reportedly disowned all secessionist groups in the region, including the Indigenous People of Biafra,  assuring that all Nigerians living in the South-East that they had no reason to fear or leave the region.

According to the communique, “Arising from the meeting of June 11, 2021 with the presidential team led by the Minister of Defence, Major General Bashir Magashi (retd), we the South-East people agreed to a further meeting with them as requested by them.”

The communique added that, “Consequent upon that, we scheduled our own meeting today, June 19, 2021, to enable us to discuss as brothers and sisters and articulate our positions to enable us to not only engage the presidential team but to also engage our people over all burning issues.”

It stressed that “We the Igbo do reaffirm our commitment to a United Nigeria under the platforms of justice, equality of rights, fairness, love, and respect for one another.

“We condemn in totality the activities of violent secessionist groups in the South-East and elsewhere. We firmly proclaim that we do not support them and they do not speak for the South-East.”

According to reports, those present in the meeting apart from Umahi, were Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State; Governor Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State; Anambra State Deputy Governor, Nkem Okeke; Imo State Deputy Governor, Prof Placid Njoku; and the Minister of Labour and Productivity, Senator Chris Ngige.

Others included a former Deputy Senate President, Prof Ike Ekweremadu; Senate Minority Leader and the Chairman, South-East National Assembly Caucus, Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe; Senator Sam Egwu; Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu; President General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Prof George Obiozor; Chief Nnia Nwodo; and the Minister of State for Steel and Mining, Dr Uche Oga.

Then the Catholic Bishop of Enugu Diocese, Most Rev Callistus Onaga; Bishop of Nsukka Catholic Diocese, Most Rev Geoffrey Onah; Anglican Archbishop of Enugu Provence, Most Rev Emmanuel Chukwuma; Methodist Bishop of Enugu, Dr Christopher Ede; the Chairman, Christian Association of Nigeria, South-East, Most Rev Emmanuel Ede among others, were also present at the meeting.

About the author

Esther Ifeoluwa

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Follow Us On

follow us, share and be part of Nigeria premier undiluted news.

Media 1

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Don’t miss out. Get the latest

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


Media Show

Viral Videos