#Security: President Buhari Appoints New Service Chiefs

Following the New Year presidential speech that critical security changes would be made in 2021, President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed new service chiefs to replace the retiring ones, who has been in service since 2015.

This was revealed in a statement by Femi Adesina, who is the Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, to President Buhari. 

According to the statement, “President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service”.

The statement read further that, “Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar”.

In addition, the statement revealed that “President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their ‘overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country’, wishing them well in their future endeavours”.

Meanwhile, the statement also made it known that “The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General Ibrahim. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff”.

Nonetheless, the statement also read that “The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities,”.

About the author

Esther Ifeoluwa

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Follow Us On

follow us, share and be part of Nigeria premier undiluted news.

Media 1

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Don’t miss out. Get the latest

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


Media Show

Viral Videos