Buhari Nominates Former Service Chiefs As Ambassadors

Following the sacking of the former service chiefs last week by President Muhammadu Buhari, and the immediate replacement, The Special Adviser to the president on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina has revealed in a statement that the President has nominated the previous service chiefs as non-career ambassadors.

According to Adesina, their names have been sent to the Senate for confirmation. The statement released by the Special Adviser read that, “President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded the names of the immediate past Service Chiefs to the Senate as non-career Ambassadors-Designate. In a letter to Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan, President of the Senate, the President said: ‘In accordance with Section 171 (1), (2) (c) & sub-section (4) of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed five (5) names of nominees as Non-Career Ambassadors-Designate”.

The statement read further that, “The nominees are: Gen Abayomi G. Olonisakin (Rtd ), Lt Gen Tukur Y. Buratai (Rtd), Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas (Rtd), Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Rtd), and Air Vice Marshal Mohammed S. Usman (Rtd). The President urged the Senate to give expeditious consideration to the nominations”.

About the author

Esther Ifeoluwa

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Follow Us On

follow us, share and be part of Nigeria premier undiluted news.

Media 1

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Don’t miss out. Get the latest

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


Media Show

Viral Videos